European Committee issues recommendations on corporal punishment

The 2019 Conclusions of the European Committee of Social Rights were published earlier this year. The Committee issued a total of 36 recommendations or observations on corporal punishment of children to the states examined during that session, including 11 states which are yet to enact a ban of all corporal punishment in their legislation: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Czech Republic, Italy, the Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Turkey and the UK.


Further information

  • For more information, see our detailed reports.
  • For further information on the obligation to prohibit corporal punishment under the European Social Charter and Revised Social Charter (ECSR) and to see the Committee’s recommendations in full, see the Global Initiative’s page on ECSR.
  • For information on how you can support the campaign to protect all children from corporal punishment, visit our Get involved